England is different, huh?

Hello my friends! Or, as the British would say “Are you alright?”  I’ve been here two weeks now and I have learned a bit more about British culture. Lets see. They call a line a queue. They call bathrooms toilettes. They love “American accents.” They say hiya instead of hello. They say mate a lot. They LOVE custard. They spell weird (ex:tire=tyre). They pronounce aluminum as owl-you-me-num. No one knows who Shaquille O’neal is. I could sit here and think of the differences all day. but the most shocking experience I have had with this happened the other day.

I was walking with my companions on the side of the road and a bus went driving pass. As we looked at the bus, and old man leaned out the window and gave us the two fingered American “peace sign.” I smiled and waved of course. Then I said to my companions, “What a nice old man!” They looked really confused then told me that the sign he had just given us was not what I thought it was… Basically, it means the total opposite of peace here in England. You can imagine how dumb I felt. Haha but we do have a lot of fun here. I’m getting more and more comfortable here and getting to know more and more people everyday. I have even had one man tell me I sound like I’m from England! I don’t know what he was hearing, but hey, I’ll take it!

The work has been going well too! I’m getting more comfortable with talking to people and learning to have fun at the same time. I think the clock has sped up or something because everyday flies by now. This past month has flown by, and I have already had experiences I will never forget. This decision I have made to serve is one I know I will never regret and one that will positively affect the rest of my life. My favorite scripture this week has to do with a question I am frequently asked when meeting people. They say “If there was a God, why would he let bad things happen to me?” And that is a good quesiton, but a question that can be answered with scripture and by understanding why we are on this earth.

The scripture reads, “If thou art called to pass through tribulation; if thou art in perils among false brethren; if thou art in perils among robbers; if thou art in perils by land or by sea;

If thou art accused with all manner of false accusations; if thine enemies fall upon thee; if they tear thee from the society of thy father and mother and brethren and sisters; and if with a drawn sword thine enemies tear thee from the bosom of thy wife, and of thine offspring…and thou be dragged to prison, and thine enemies prowl around thee like wolves for the blood of the lamb;

And if thou shouldst be cast into the pit, or into the hands of murderers, and the sentence of death passed upon thee; if thou be cast into the deep; if the billowing surge conspire against thee; if fierce winds become thine enemy; if the heavens gather blackness, and all the elements combine to hedge up the way; and above all, if the very jaws of hell shall gape open the mouth wide after thee, know thou, my son, that all these things shall give thee experience and shall be for thy good.” (D&C 122:5-7)

Simply put, this scripture teaches us that no matter how bad the situation is, we can always grow and learn from it. Even when we do not think we can handle a situation, God knows us and would not give us any situation that we could not deal with. I love this scripture because it really does give a hope that we can all overcome our struggles no matter what they are. I hope we can all remember that! But I’ve gatta get going! Have a great week everyone! Bye bye!

Leave a Reply

