God moves~

Hiya friends! Another week in England is gone! I can not even believe I have been here for a month already! It’s flown by! I do love it here though and I am having a great time teaching and learning to love and care for those around me.
This week was a weird one. From Sunday to Thursday I was REALLY sick. Haha I don’t know how it happened, but all I know is that being sick in the mission field is not fun. I didn’t want to just lounge around, so I did everything I would usually do. Except it was a lot harder. And let me tell you, when you are healthy and happy and someone yells at you its not big deal. But when you are sick and miserable.. Oh no. Haha but of course there is always positive to be seen! In this case, I lost 10 pounds! Yep! I’m back to my usual weight of around 142 so that’s good. For a minute there I was afraid that I was going to get really fat and never run again.
So being sick isn’t fun and is something that I think we can all agree on. Another thing I think a lot of us can agree on is that being rained on in 40 degree weather isn’t very fun either. Well, winter has officially hit in England! I think it has rained everyday this week. But the crazy part is, is that I love it. I do not know why, but its just been really enjoyable to have to walk everywhere with an umbrella. I guess its because growing up I always thought umbrellas were useless. Boy was I wrong.
On another note, my companions and I saw our friend from the park a couple days ago! This time he was just with one other friend, so as we passed we smiled and waved. What do you think he did? He yelled ANOTHER rude comment at us. We were on the way to a dinner (tea) appointment however and didn’t have time to stop. I guess he won that one.
This week, a lot of crazy things didn’t happen to me in terms of other people. But this week has been by far the most spiritually uplifting one. Even though it is now winter and I got really sick, I have seen so many miracles take place this week. I have seen people in very bad situations decide to rely on God. And I know that in doing so they will find the comfort and help they need to get out of those situations. One particular story I would like to share is about a young man in this area. This young man is 20 years old and works at a local car wash. Three weeks ago, we spoke to him about the gospel as he worked and he wasn’t interested at all. So we told him to check out mormon.org, told him what street our church was on, and moved on and never heard anything more from him. Yesterday in church as my companions and I sat listening to the speakers, this random young man comes walking in. None of us recognized him at first, but he was just staring at us… Before long we realized who he was and invited him to come sit with us!
After church we took him aside and spoke to him and he shared with us that he had been going through a lot of tough things. His parents had abandoned him at the age of 14, he had lived by himself since then working to survive. He had lost faith in God and felt that there was no way out. This Sunday, however, as he sat at work as usual, he looked around him and realized in his own words, “I need God in my life or I am going no where.” This young man has been through so much and has been mad at God for so long, yet he knows that in the end, God is there to help him if only he would ask. He knows that all of his pains and sorrows can be taken away. He knows that his trials and tribulations have strengthened him into the strong man that he is today. He knows that Jesus Christ is his saviour and that because of his sacrifice, he can return to live with God again.
This young man is an example to me. He has taken a situation at its worst, and decided to make it better. As he looks to make changes in his personal life with assistance and guidance from God, he will be blessed to have success. This man’s example and situation led me to this week’s scripture of the week found in the Book of Mormon in Ether 12:27. It reads:

“And if men come unto me I will show unto them their weakness. I give unto men weakness that they may be humble; and my grace is sufficient for all men that humble themselves before me; for if they humble themselves before me, and have faith in me, then will I make weak things become strong unto them.”

Friends, it is my hope and prayer that we can all strive to allow the Lord to help us in our everyday lives. It is definitely something that I need to work on. 

Well, that’s all for this week! I’m excited to see what next week holds! Until next Monday!

With love,
Elder Walker
Leave a Reply

