Missed a week! But more new experiences and life lessons from God!

Hiya hiya friends!
It has been too long! I wasn’t able to write last week sorry! It was transfer week and so Elder Ditzler got transferred to Northern England. So now it’s just Elder Taotua and I. But I have lots of neat things to tell you all about! First off, I am really starting to like Fish and Chips. It’s not good. Pretty soon I’ll be way too fat to run even a little bit. Which reminds me! I tried running on Saturday for the first time since I arrived in England! I ran for 3 minutes, then stopped. I was dead. Sad, I know. But, I’ll worry about that later! I weigh a whopping 11 stone 1 (155 lbs) so I’ve gained all the weight back that I lost when I got sick. I feel healthy though so that’s all that really matters!
As usual, it just wouldn’t be a very good week if something crazy didn’t happen. First off, we saw that big bully kid again. Except this time he was all by himself. So, as we walked up to him we could see him started to try to walk away. but we called out to him, reassuring him that we just wanted to set things right. We shook his hand, had a laugh with him, and told him to stay out of trouble. Then we went our separate ways. Now every time we see him he gives a very warm hello with a wave! See, I knew he was a good kid! Haha. Even though we did a good thing in making friends with him, it didn’t stop us from getting rained on. We were out knocking doors with no umbrella when suddenly it starts pouring on us. Too busy, we kept going and ended up dripping and freezing from head to toe. And no one still let us in! Haha its ok though, we dried out eventually. The crazy part about that is that we didn’t learn from it. A couple days later we were again out knocking doors and it was a beautiful, sunny day. Within a matter of minutes, it started pouring rain and got very very cold. Feeling used to it and not too bothered by the rain and cold, we kept knocking doors. the next thing we knew, we were getting hailed on! So we found cover and waited it out. It was not fun. I think I’m going to carry an umbrella at all times no matter what from now on.
Apart from making new friends and getting rained and hailed on, we also met a variety of people who don’t even speak English this week. One of them was a Polish home. We knocked and they opened up. It didn’t take long for us to realize we couldn’t understand each other. We showed them the Book of Mormon, and all of a sudden the man hugged both of us and got his girlfriend to take a picture of us… It was really strange, but we just left them because the conversation was going no where. We also met a man from China. He had only bee in the UK for 2 weeks and didn’t speak hardly any English. I knew how to say “I know Jesus Christ lives” in Mandarin but that’s about it. So that conversation went no where either. The last different language lady we met was from Iraq! She spoke a little English, but mostly Assyrian. But, the conversation still went well! She even let us in her home to look at pictures of Jesus. Nice lady.
Aside from all of these strange experiences, I did have some powerful spiritual moments. A week ago from yesterday was General Conference for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (mormons). This conference, which happens twice per year, is a broadcast around the whole world in which we can hear from our living prophet and apostles. The big news from this years conference was in regards to missionary work and missionary age in particular. Before Sunday, the ages were 19 for young men and 21 for young women. The ages are now 18 for young men and 19 for young women. What an exciting announcement! With this exciting news, I couldn’t help but think of all the soon to be younger missionaries around the world. As I thought about this, I felt joy for how much happiness they will gain from their mission. This thought led me to this week’s scripture of the week. It is from the Doctrine and Covenants Section 31:3. It reads:
“Lift up your hearts and rejoice, for the hour of your mission is come; and your tongue shall be loosed, and you shall declare glad tidings of great joy unto this generation.”
How true this scripture is! To all of you who are thinking about serving a mission or not, I want you to know that a mission is great! It truly is a cause to rejoice because it will be the best times of your life. That’s my opinion of course, but you can find out for yourself!
Well gatta go! Until next time!
With Love,
Elder Walker
Leave a Reply

