Life is just a Rollercoaster

Hiya all!
 
Another great week in the UK! Each and everyday is so enjoyable. I love it! With that being said, I am FREEZING. Winter has officially hit. It dropped below freezing earlier this week and with the wet air and almost constant mist/rain it feels COLD. At least I have a few extra pounds to keep me warm!
 
Honestly, this past week I don’t think anything crazy unusual happened! That’s a first! Maybe it did, maybe I am just getting so used to it that I don’t even notice anymore. We did have an exciting event in our church ward this week though! It was an auction! Now when I think of an auction, I think of the typical auction in which people bid against one another for items of particular interest. In other words, they bid for things that people actually want. At this auction, however, there were no such items. Even though there were no real items for bid, it was still hilarious to see people get so competitive for the smallest things. For example, a batch of brownies and other desserts made by one of the moms started at a price of £1 ($1.72). By the end, the bronwnies and desserts sold for £82! That’s nearly $150! Crazy I know, but it was for a good cause.
 
Although this week has been a great one, it has definately had its ups and downs. As I sit and think about how up and down this week has been, I can’t help but think of how running was the same way. One day I’d be injured and complaining. The next I’d be healthy and happy. The next I’d be sick and slow and upset. This pattern of ups and downs continued the entire year almost without fail. From these ups and downs, however, I learned that that is just the way life goes; life is a rollercoaster. There are many of you out there right now who are at the top of the rollercoaster and there are just as many who are at the bottom. For the ones at the top, love it! And stay there! For the ones at the bottom, love it! And enjoy it while it last! Ok, now you may be confused as to why I say love it even when you are at the bottom. It is because when we are at our lowest point is when we are most teachable. It is in these moments that we can truly reflect on what we can do to help our situation and truly focus on what it is that we can learn and change. Don’t get me wrong, it is ok to be sad or stressed or whatever else you may be. But don’t let that distract you from the true opportunity to learn and grow!
 
There are a wonderful couple of scriptures in the Bible that come to mind. They are in 2 Corinthians and read:
 
“We are troubled on every side, yet not distressed; we are perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not forsaken; cast down, but not destroyed…For our light affliction which is but for a moment, worketh for us a far mor exceeding and eternal weight of glory”
 
Let us all decide to learn from bad experiences. Let us decide to love the moments when things seem down because we know that they will be but for a moment! I hope one or two of you will benefit from this! Oh yea, and have a happy and safe Halloween!
 
With Love,
Elder Walker
Leave a Reply

