I Love My Saviour!

Hiya hiya hiya!
 
Another week has passed already! It is all going by so quickly! But, I hope you all had a safe Halloween and got lots of candy because I didn’t get any! 😀 But that’s ok. I don’t really need it. Today here in England is a holiday though! It’s called Guy Fawkes Day! Supposedly it’s about some man who tried to burn some famous building or something a long time ago. So, they burn straw effiges of him! Pretty harsh! But, everyone here loves it! Since a couple days before Halloween fireworks have been going off every night. It’s a pretty festive time for the British!
 
Other than holidays and what not I am still learning the British ways of living and what not. My pronounciation of words is beginning to be a bit confused. I’m not sure if I am saying it the way an American would or the way a Brit would.. I’m probably somewhere in between. Not only is my speech getting all weird, but I can’t even remember what side of the car I am supposed to get in! Most the time I just have to guess… All in all its becoming more and more like home!
 
In the area I am in at the moment, there is another set of missionaries serving here as well. They are a senior couple! In other words, they are an older couple who have decided to go on a mission together. Their names are Elder and Sister Platt. They are originally from Salt Lake City, Utah and they are hilarious! Elder Platt is nearly 80, but he has the energy and humour of a teenager! I love him! He randomly cracks jokes when we least expect it. Not only is he funny, but he is one of the most patient, loving, and honest man I have ever met. As a district we recently played the game known as “2 truths and 1 lie.” Which is when you give three statements about yourself and everyone has to guess which one is the lie. We all went around having a good time then it was Elder Platt’s turn. He made his three statements then we all started to guess which one was a lie. After much confusion we came to realize that they were all true. His response? “I can not tell a lie.” Haha, he is a great example to myself.
 
This great example of honesty and other characteristics is the result of Elder Platt’s life-long commitment to follow the Saviour and to strive to be like him. Elder Platt has chosen to follow the Apostle Paul’s direction in 1 Timothy 4:12, which reads:
 
“Let no man despise thy youth; but be thou an example of the believers, in word, in conversation, in charity, in spirit, in faith, in purity.”
 
My friends, I know that as we strive to emulate the Saviour and learn of his ways, that we will be able to be examples to those around us. I know that The Bible brings us much knowledge and wisdom about Christ and his teachings, but I also know that The Book of Mormon is an additional witness that Jesus is the Christ and can draw us closer to the Saviour than any other book.
 
If any of you have any doubts as to what the Book of Mormon says or what “Mormons” are really all about, I invite you to read the Book of Mormon to truly find out, for yourself what it says. Furthermore, if you have sincere questions, ask the missionaries! They can help!
 
As a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, I want you all to know that I love my Saviour. I love doing His work. I love wearing His name on my chest and I strive to always be an example to those around me. Let all of us who love the Saviour also seek to be like Him and in doing so, be a shining light and example to others.
 
With love,
Elder Walker
Leave a Reply

