On Key

Hiya hiya! It has been way too long! So much has happened in these ten days. Let’s see, where do I start.
 
First off, it was transfer week again! Elder Taotua is outta here! Sadly… I’m going to miss serving with him…But I will still see him around. Oh, so that I don’t confuse anyone (you know who you are haha), I am still in Telford. My address hasn’t changed just yet. Haha anyways, my new companion is also a new missionary! His name is Elder Maljanen! From Finland! It was a great experience to be able to find out that I would be given the opportunity to train him! Of course it was a bit scary since I was being trained myself just 5 days ago, but I do know that I won’t have to do it alone as long as I spend a little extra time praying!
 
In terms of awkward situations, last week, Elder Taotua and I decided that we would try something new. We decided that we would sing to atleast three people for one day. That day, I should’ve known that it would come back to bite me. But, of course, at the time it sounded fun so we looked for any opportunity to do so. that opportunity came as we knocked the door of a home that had “Happy Birthday” on the door. A lady opened and immediately told us she was not interested, so we offered to sing Happy Birthday. She happily accepted and ran to get her 9 year old boy, Alex. Once he got to the door, I looked to Elder Taotua for support. He then said something along the lines of “I don’t know that song.” Instantly, I believed him. Why? I have no idea. Maybe it was because he was from New Zealand and I wasn’t sure if they sang it there. Whatever the reason, I realized that I would have to sing alone. So, I did! Once I finished I heard a roar of claps. I peaked around the corner into the home, and there were approximately 30 people staring back at me. Awkward. Oh yes. We got out of there quick.
 
Now as I look back at this, I can’t help but think of the happiness that that boy felt. Though I felt humiliated and awkward, I am sure he felt quite good. I am sure that no matter how terrible or off key the singing would have been, he would have been so happy. This is why the savior teaches us to become as little children. In fact we learn in the Book of Mormon that “the Lord will receive those who repent and come unto him as little children” (3 Nephi 9:22). Let us all seek to become like this little boy by being grateful and happy no matter how off key life may sometimes seem. By so doing, we can experience grater happiness and joy. I love you all!
 
With love,
 
Elder Walker
Leave a Reply

