Be Yourself

Hello hello hello! 
 
Another week come, another week gone. Times are flying by. In these 5 months, I feel like so much has happened! They have gone by so fast! Recently I have wondered why crazy things stopped happening to me each week. And I have concluded that they haven’t. I have just gotten so comfortable in England that it’d be crazy if these things didn’t happen! And that is what I love. I was talking with a missionary who is heading home soon just a few weeks ago, and he was telling me all his concerns with going back; he was worried he wouldn’t know how to act in normal everyday life situations. I couldn’t understand and told him to just be himself and that it’d be ok. Then he said something along the lines of, “Elder, that won’t work. We think we act normal, but the truth is, we forget just how not normal we have become.”
 
I have thought a lot about this. What exactly is normal? I won’t sit here and try to explain my view of normal, because obviously, my view is skewed! The truth is, whatever “normal” means, it doesn’t matter too much. What does matter is that we be ourselves. Some of us are hard on ourselves though. We may think, “Oh, well I don’t like myself.” With a thought like that, it makes it hard to act as someone or something we don’t even like. So what do we do about it? My mom emailed me a wonderful scripture this past week that answers that question beautifully. It is found in the Old Testament- Ezekiel 36:26. It reads:
 
“A new heart also will I give you, and a new spirit will I put within you: and I will take away the stony heart out of your flesh, and I will give you an heart of flesh.”
 
The answer. We trust in the Lord’s ability to give us what we lack within ourselves. If it requires a lot of change to be our best selves, then so be it. On the other side of the equation, some of us think, “Oh, well that’s good, because I love how perfect I am.” This is just as dangerous. Even when we love ourselves, we must be careful to make sure we are our best selves. And we can only be our best selves with Heavenly Father’s help and with trust in His son. 
 
In this New Year, let us all choose to seek our best selves. By so doing, you will be happier, you will find out more of who you really are, and you will achieve great things this year!
 
With love,
Elder Walker
Leave a Reply

