Stand up for what’s right!

Guten Morgen!
 
Good Morning! I love serving around a German. It’s great. But, I hope that some of you decided to go home and clean after last week! If you did, I am sure that you felt the difference!
 
So, a miracle has happened over these last 12 days! You will not believe it! It hasn’t rained in 12 whole days! Its a dry spell! I LOVE it! Sure, the rain isn’t so bad, but it is just so much better when you can walk and talk with people and only be cold, rather than cold and wet. Aside from the weather (which I always seem to somehow end up talking about) I have learned something new about myself recently! Whenever I ride on a bus, I get sick! Apparently its motion sickness? Lucky for me, I am in a bus area! So everywhere we go is by bus. Now for the entire first week, I suffered on every bus ride because I didn’t know how to fix it. But I have found the remedy. Believe it or not, the only way I feel better is by speaking with someone the entire time I am on the bus. These conversations always end up in some kind of religious conversation and sometimes when it goes that way, they no longer want to speak with me. But then I start to get sick, so I get up and go and sit by someone else and start the whole process all over again!
 
Now those of you that have served missions in bus areas may understand that speaking to people on the bus is the best situation ever because they can’t escape! Well, those people realize that too, and if they feel threatened they will begin to yell and scream and whatever else helps them feel comfortable. Why anyone would feel threatened by a goofy, skinny, and smiling 19 year old is beyond me. A few days ago, I did have an experience on the bus that really made me think. 
 
I was sitting on the bus, trying not to get sick and said hello to this man sitting across from me. He looked back with somewhat of a look of shock, but did say hello. I asked him how his day was, and he responded. We started getting into a conversation and eventually it lead to the badge on my chest as it always does. After I explained what the badge meant, he made some more then bold statements as to why he doesn’t believe in God. Rather than get into some sort of argument over doctrine that he didn’t even believe in, I simply said, “Ok, I see. What is it that you do believe in?” And he let out an angry burst of uncontrolled emotion that lead everyone on the jam-packed bus to look at us.
 
Before I could respond, a young girl probably 15 or 16 that was sitting behind the angry man said to him, “Quit being so rude! He hasn’t done or said anything rude or wrong to you at all!” The man then turned his attacking words on the girl who defended herself quite well. As she stood her ground for what was right, however, he calmed down, backed off, and apologized. Shortly after, he got off the bus. Amazed at what had just happened, and not wanting to get sick from not speaking to anyone, I turned to the young girl and said “Thank you.” I then asked her how she was able to get the man to calm down and to listen to her. Her response was simple and pure truth. To paraphrase she said, “When you stand for what’s right, what’s wrong won’t.”
 
Profound? Maybe. But it was in essence the words of a young 15 or 16 year old who recognized right from wrong. In application for us all, don’t ever be afraid to stand for what’s right. Even if it’s only you, you can be assured that sooner or later, what is wrong will fall. Now I ask you, what will you stand for? 
 
I love you.
 
Elder Walker
Leave a Reply

