Atonement

Hello Hello!
 
Well yesterday was transfers so Elder Gabler and I said our good byes to our Italian friend and our sleep talking/walking/everything else friend. It was a great 6 weeks together. To avoid confusion, I am still at the same address as before. Ok? Perfect! 
 
Both Elder Gabler and I do get the opportunity to welcome 2 new missionaries into the field! Their names are Elder Diperi from Mesa, Arizona, and Elder Pywell from Sheffield in England. What a great time we will have together this transfer. As I got to know Elder Diperi a bit better on the bus home yesterday, I found out that he is a recent convert! He was baptised in September 2011. So between the two of us, we have been member’s of this church for less that 4 total years! As he told me of his conversion, I felt a powerful spirit and knew that he was here for the right reasons. What an assurance! To have a companion that I know is here to work hard and see miracles! And miracles we will see!
 
The first such miracle was in our first teaching lesson together. It was last night at a member’s home. It was my first time going to this member’s home and so I did not know them very well. As we taught (on the Enabling Power of the Atonement) this member just looked at us in deep thought. Towards the end of the lesson, with tears in his eyes, he looked at us and said, “Elders, you don’t know what I am going through right now, but that lesson was inspired.” He then told us of recent trials he was facing and how he had just been thinking the night before that he simply did not have the strength to handle them and that he did not know what to do. Thanks to the spirit being present, however, he came to know in that lesson just what he needed- to rely on the Atonement.
 
In this Easter season I invite all of you, non-believers or believers, to find out for yourself exactly what it was that Jesus Christ did and why He did it. I invite you to really work it our in your minds and hearts and learn how you can access His divine help. If you don’t know how you can find out, talk to missionaries. They will love to help. If that’s too scary, go to church or look at mormon.org. Whatever it may be, do something! There is no reason why you shouldn’t have as much as you possibly could. I love you all!
 
Elder Walker
Leave a Reply

