Family is Happiness

Hi everyone!

Oh what a great start to this week I had yesterday! Since it was Mother’s Day, I got to Skype my family back home and that was such a great time. It was only 1 hour, but that hour reminded me what a wonderful family I have! True, they are all a bit strange and a bit crazy, but I love them so much. 

Talking with them has reminded me just why families are so very important, but I will get to that in a second. But first, another miracle! So, on Friday, Elder DiPeri and I were rushing to a home of someone that we wanted to try and see before the end of the day. As we did so we passed a home numbered 200. For some reason, I instantly received an impression that we should stop and knock that specific door. Just like last week, it was very clear and distinct. So, without fighting the thought, we stopped and knocked. A man opened and told us he knew who we were, but that he couldn’t let us in because he was going through some serious family issues at the moment. He told us that some certain “demons” were attacking his family. Elder DiPeri explained that that was precisely why we were there. He didn’t understand though, and went to close the door. Before he shut it, I told him that I knew for certain that God wanted us there at that moment. The door stopped. He opened it, and said, “come in.”

We went in and spoke with Daniel and got to know him and his family. They are going through a really tough time and he didn’t seem to understand why his family was having such issues. We told him the obvious, that Satan (the Devil) is attacking families in these days. He then asked why Satan would do such a thing. Now think back to how I said my family makes me feel. They make me feel, in short, happy. God has given us families to have that happiness and Satan knows that. So he will do everything he can to destroy those bonds from which happiness come. That is reason number 1 why Satan attacks families. Reason number 2, is simply because he (Satan) knows that these bonds are intended to extended beyond this life (Genesis 2:24, Matthew 19:3-6). For these reasons, Satan will do everything he can to cause disruption, anger, and violence in families. To combat this, we must know where those negative emotions come from, and then turn away from them! It’s just that easy. But sometimes it is easier said than done. To turn away from them, two principles must be applied. First, forgiveness. When was the last time you forgave someone who wronged you? And second, the Atonement of Jesus Christ. If you do these things, your family relationships will increase and you will be happier.

I love you.

Elder Walker

Leave a Reply

