Power of Words

Hello! So you might have noticed (probably not) that I missed last week for the first time in over a year! Why? Well, because I was too busy! But of course busy isn’t bad. It “keeps us out of trouble,” as the saying goes. So what’s new with me? Well, We have been seeing so many miracles it is unbelievable. People have been wanting to know what we teach more and more! Its wonderful! It has gotten so good that we will even have the opportunity to teach in a local school on Wednesday! It will be full of 16-18 years olds! And 16-18 year olds always give visitors to their school their undivded attention right?! Of course they do! Or atleast we will make it fun so that they will want to! I am excited! I’ll let you all know how it goes!
 
In other news, I have moved again! I am no longer in Liverpool. I did learn a lot of lessons there though, for which I will always be grateful. I am now in Newcastle-Under-Lyme. When I first arrived in England over a year ago, I was in Telford, a town just 40 minutes south of here. And so, I am back in the same Zone as I started! And it feels like home again. I love it already. It feels so good to see familiar faces and to see the growth others have made. My new companion is Elder Derrick Palmer from Arizona. He is sooo chilled out. It is amazing. He is teaching me how to calm down a bit, so we will see how that goes.
 
These past two weeks I have thought a lot about the words that I speak and the power that words have. For those of you who know me, know that I use sarcasm a lot. Well, sarcasm is derived from the Greek sarkazein, and means “the tearing of flesh like dogs.” That does not sound like a good thing. And its not. So, I have been working to cut out sarcasm! It is hard, but it is possible so I will continue to work on that. Sarcasm is just one example of the many ways words can be mis-used. Maybe if we understood the power words have to effect others and ourselves, we wouldn’t use them so incorrectly. “God said let there be light, and therewas light.” Think of this example. God spoke. God used words. And it was done. Another example. “Behold, we put bits in the horses’ mouth, that they may obey us; and we turn about their whole body.” Simply by controlling the horses’ mouth, we control it. Simply put, words create results; both good and bad. Do you see the power of words? Do see why James said, “The tongue [can be] a fire, a world of iniquity… an unruly evil, full of deadly poison.” But on the flip side, the tongue can also be a good thing. It can be used to “minister grace unto the hearers.” It can uplift and inspire. It can encourage and motivate. It can heal and soothe. It can bless. It can praise. Let us use words with care! Such as,
 
I love you!
 
Elder Walker
Leave a Reply

