Lesson Number 2

Friends!
 
And the weeks just get faster and faster. But that’s what happens when you are having fun! As promised last week, I will continue sharing the major lessons I have learned during my time here. The second lesson I have learned is one that seems quite negative at first, but has actually greatly benefitted my life.
 
Before my mission, I like to think that I was a pretty easy going and care free kind of person. Looking back, however, I have found that I was not! This realizaton first dawned on me when I was living in Blackburn. Blackburn will always have a special spot in my heart. When I arrived there, I was very anxious to do as much as I could. As the scripture says, I was “anxiously engaged.” What I did not understand about this scripture and mindset is that being anxiously engaged does not mean being impatient when results don’t happen immediately. For 4 months I worked as hard as I could to see the results I felt I should see. These results did not happen as immediately as I had hoped. In fact, I was being so preoccupied with what I felt should happen that I did not notice the good that was happening along the way. I only saw one thing- the end result of what I thought should happen; nothing else mattered.
 
With this mindset I soon became uphappy with the results. I soon found that nothing seemed to be working and felt that my efforts were near useless. Nevertheless, I countinued to work as hard as I could, always with the end result in mind. Finally, one night, I realised that I was very unhappy. I realised that something was wrong and that I was not meant to be feeling like I did. So, what did I do? I humbled myself, and prayed sincerely to my Heavenly Father to know what to do. The answer I received was very clear and distinct. It came from Alma 26:27.
 
It reads, “Now when our hearts were depressed, and we were about to turn back, behold, the Lord comforted us, and said: Go amongst thy brethren, the Lamanites [or Blackburnites], and bear with patience thine afflictions, and I will give unto you success”
 
I took courage and began to work with a new mindset. With the mindset that I would continue to be as anxiously engaged as possible, but with a new sense of patience and understanding. I did so and within weeks, miracles happened! What was the lesson I learned? I learned that patience truly does yield success. This applies to everything in life! Be patient! Sometimes trials come! Sometimes we have challenges where no immediate solutions seems clear. Just remember to be patient. You can not always control circumstances around you, but you can control how you react! It will all be ok. I promise. This lesson is one that I learned line upon line and precept upon precept; one that I am very grateful for. I hope you all take note and choose to be patient! I love you!
 
Elder Walker

 

Leave a Reply

